Volunteer Opportunities

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Senior Lunch Volunteer Delores 2017 VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Are you interested in sharing your talents to help others in your community? The City has a variety of opportunities to suit varied skills and areas of interest.

Senior Program - Linda Croasdill, lcroasdill@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4686

  • Receptionist duties, clerical support, greeting and directing participants and visitors.
  • Food Service: Assist with setup, preparation and cleanup. Food Handler's card required.

    Meals on Wheels - Kathleen Cummings, kcummings@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4683
  • Assist with packing and delivering of meals to homebound senior citizens.
  •  
    Specialized Recreation - Nicole Jones, njones@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4685
  • Assist staff working with individuals with special needs on a monthly basis.

  • Classes/Sports - Marlon Olson, molson@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4684
  • Volunteer teaching classes or coaching a sport.

  • Special Events - Marlon Olson, molson@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4684
  • Assist with various special events sponsored throughout the year including on July 4th.

  • Parks Clean Up - Mike Fitzpatrick, mfitzpatrick@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4781
  • Individuals or groups can organize park cleanup events at designated parks.

  • Public Works/Solid Waste Program - Trudy Olson, tolson@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4763
  • Volunteer at one of the annual recycling events.

  • Volunteer Coordinator/Police Dept. - Joann Watanabe-Hayes, joann.watanabe-hayes@kingcounty.gov, 206.973.4910
  • Work the front desk, answer phones and assist at community events.  Must successfully pass a background check.

  • Finance Department - Ruth Black, rblack@ci.seatac.wa.us, 206.973.4886
  • General clerical assistance and special projects.
    • Citizen Advisory Boards/Committees
      Contact: City Clerk’s Office at 206.973.4660
      Committee descriptions and application packet: Board/Committee Application Packet [PDF]

      Airport Advisory Committee - Act in an advisory capacity to the City Council on airport related issues.

      Art, Culture and Library Advisory Committee - Identify issues related to arts, culture and library related items.  Discuss and make recommendations to the City Council.

      Community Service Advisory Committee - Make reports and recommendations to the City Council concerning community service issues.

      Hotel/Motel Tax Advisory Committee - Review and comment on items pertaining to Hotel/Motel Tax.

      Planning Commission - Study and forward recommendations to the City Council for the adoption of long range comprehensive plans, policies, programs and services.

      Senior Citizen Advisory Committee - Work with a staff liaison to identify issues related to senior citizens in the community.

      Sidewalk Advisory Committee - Develop recommendations to the City Council regarding funding and construction, site selection for sidewalk construction projects and maintenance.

      Tree Board - Identify issues related to public trees. Plan and implement an Arbor Day Observation/Celebration.

      City Programs
      Contact: Human Resources Department at 206.973.4650
      Application Packet: Volunteer Interest Packet [PDF]

      Organizations in the SeaTac area
      Contact:
      Parks, Community Programs & Services Department, 206.973.4815 or cbschluter@ci.seatac.wa.us